- SRB2Kart on a phone -

13/04/2025

Ever since i played kart for the first time, i had this thought on my mind... "does it run on phone?"

So i searched far and wide for this elusive kart mobile port, until i found a video of someone running it on their phone with something called "termux" whatever that is, idk i was a windows kid and never interacted with any of those nerd stuff linux users have, but for this once i was gonna make an exception. So i try to follow the tutorial as well as i can but it didnt work, idk why and i dont think i'll ever find out why, but its whatever, i have pc so..

Moving on a few years from now, I become the linux nerd i was talking about, which means i like tinkering around a lot on the terminal and that sort of stuff, with that transition into being a nerd i got a lot of knowledge on some things, like compiling stuff from source (which god do you need to do a lot if you use linux a lot), and so with that knowledge acquired and after seeing my buddy fancy2209 install rayman 2 on his phone, i had an ikdea.

So a while back i managed to install termux-x11 on, well, termux, and was messing around with it, could i perhaps use this thenclolgy to install srb2kart? I mean, i saw the other guy do it, so why cant i do it? Well at first i couldnt do it, the sudo command didnt work, so cant install packages... Right? Well funny thing, i could actually do it because i was in a proot, i just didnt realize until while talking to Unmatched Bracket a whole while later.

So finally, with now being able to do sudo, there was not a lot left to do, just get the packages, compile from source and just play it right? And yeah you would be partially correct, the game compiled all fine and dandy, you could even run it on termux-x11 with one major issue, most of the keys you use when playing didnt work, and thats a very big issue (aside from sound not being working, but all you need to do was to copy some commands). But if you read that correctly, i said "most" which means some do work right? Well as a sanity check to see if it was just kart being stupid, i compiled srb2 and loaded into a game, and same issue except that when i tried to roll (the default key being shift i think?) It worked, with no issues, and in that moment a fuse lit in my head... "Hey i could probably maybe talvez use this in kart", to cut a long story short, yeah, i could use it in kart. And kart runs pretty fine so far, only issues being crashing when it lags too much, but if you have a somewhat high end phone im pretty sure you wont have any issues, here is some gameplay if you want to check it out, i'll hopefully write a tutorial when i can, just so people can experience this more, although i did see that bitten2up was working on a kart mobile port os who knows

Also since some of you follow for my modding shenanigans, here is a peek at an update i've been wanting to make for house 2, progress has been slow but i hope i can finish it before the mod releases, any thoughts you can say on my guestbook!