09/11/2025
So, season 3 of One Punch Man finally released! And everyone hates it!
Will this be a blog post hating on opm? nah, but a blog post talking about some of my thoughts with not only the anime, but with the community of opm (on reddit atleast)
So the anime, its not the best, im not gonna go ahead and say how its oh so good and underrated, because its not that good. But i wont go and blame J.C Staff for the anime being bad, as to be honest they are fighting an unwinnable battle, imagine making an entire series in 6-8 months? Its impossible, you cant really do much with that time. But they still pushed on, and gave us a product which is very mediocre.
I really feel bad for the animators and specially the director of season 3, since you not only have to work with impossible deadlines on a franchise as big as OPM, but you also have to deal with people hating your everymove to the point where you have to private your twitter account, it sucks.
So, when i was seeing the new opm episode, i actually got pretty excited!
The animators were trying, and they really were trying. The episode looks pretty good imo, still having lots of issues from the last episodes but they still tried delivering a product which doesnt look bad, it looks nice actually! And to me its a perfect parallel with what the episode was talking about, Garou, trying to fight several unwinnable fights, still trying even when he gets his bones broken several times, or when he just gets burnt to a crisp or sent flying all over the associaton. He never gave up and is still trying to become the ultimate threat out there. Thats what i see in J.C Staff, not a group of talentless folks who cant do anything good ever, but as a group of individuals fighting with the deadlines, low budget and rabid fanbase to give us something, something they can be proud of! Thats why im still rooting for J.C Staff, rooting for the tiny dude who no one believes in until he can finally win big for once. Many people will say im coping, but i really am not, im just being positive.
Will OPM drastically improve on quality next episodes? Doubt it, they cant just re-schedule the season so they get more time. but i still believe in J.C Staff, maybe next season, maybe the DVD releases, they have the skill to do it, and i believe in em.
(I sound like that one kid rooting for mumen rider dont i?)
I dont plan on changing anyones opinion on season 3 with this, and i dont want to. You can keep calling the season a slideshow, but atleast have some empathy for the animators, thats what im looking for. Hope yall liked this blog post, or disliked it, see ya next century.